Time

Time

I’ve been meaning to share this TedTalk on time (it isn’t very long) and how we use it.  We do what we prioritize.  We also do what we write down.  We like to measure our accomplishments (think regularly weigh ins on your scale).   This video covers it all – basically, in one week we have 168 hours (24 hours x 7 days) at our disposal.  Figure we spend 40 hours at work and 40 hours asleep (if we are that lucky), then that means we are left with 88 hours for other things we want to do!

Okay, so that’s an overstatement.  In order to get to our 40 hour minimum per week job, most of us have a commute, so we lose maybe 10 hours a week to that.  Okay, 78 hours!

Grocery shopping, cooking, laundry, housekeeping, and pet care take up additional time, but the whole point is that we have more time than we realize.  I know I frequently lose time on Facebook or playing a silly tapping game  on my phone.  When I sit down to figure out how to spend my time, much like when I figure out how to spend my money, I realize I can do more than I thought, just by paying attention and making something a priority.

Lots of nights after work, I just don’t want to do anything.  Just go home and hang out with my cat, crafts, and the internet.  The result is that I lose out on all sorts of neat opportunities.  In the last few months I have prioritized taking some classes at my local community center, the first was an improv class, the second an art/journaling class, and then another improv.  These have been great for me since they are stretching my comfort zone.

It can be hard to leave home after work to go and do things, but it’s so worth it.  And even if you don’t think you have the time, you really probably do.

Leave a Reply

